Experience Nature on Fehmarn
Fehmarn - Stopover for Migrating Birds

With several million take-offs and landings per year, the Baltic Island of Fehmarn is by far the most important air traffic hub in Germany: Ten thousand migratory birds touch down here on their way between breeding grounds and wintering grounds. Depending on the season and flight direction, the island serves as a gateway to the north or south. Thanks to their favourable positions and abundant supplies of food, the three nature reserves of Wallnau, Grüner Brink and Krummsteert are ideal breeding areas and habitats for wildlife.

NABU Water-Bird Sanctuary Wallnau

bekassine_nabu wasservogelreservat wallnau
bekassine_nabu wasservogelreservat wallnau
Extending over almost 300 hectares, the NABU Water-Bird Sanctuary Wallnau on Fehmarn's western coast is one of northern Germany's most valuable regions in ecological terms. Here, you can experience bird life at first hand from observation huts that allow you to get within very close range of these shy creatures, unnoticed. A 10-metre-high viewing tower provides a bird's eye view of the area. Different interactive stations along the "Path of the Senses" invite you to explore the natural surroundings. An exhibition provides detailed information about bird-flight. More information is available here

Grüner Brink

kiebitz_nabu wasservogelreservat wallnau
kiebitz_nabu wasservogelreservat wallnau
Equally accessible for visitors is the 134-hectare "Grüne Brink" on the north coast of Fehmarn. This strip of land measuring 2.5 kilometres long and up to 180 metres wide that lies between the dyke and the Baltic Sea was only created when the dyke was constructed in 1872. Changes in the currents created eskers, which subsequently formed small enclosed inland lakes that gradually silted up. Today, the Baltic sea water only flows into the little lagoons during flood tides. Over the course of a year, up to 170 species of birds can be seen here.

Krummsteert / Sulsdorfer Wiek

krummsteert_fehmarn
krummsteert_fehmarn
The "Krummsteert" (a word from the local German dialect that means "crooked tail") is situated at Fehmarn's south-western tip and is off-limits to humans. It is part of the "Krummsteert - Sulsdorfer Wiek" nature reserve, which extends over some 300 hectares, including parts of the Baltic Sea. It is made up of four different eco-systems: a spit peninsula - the "Krummsteert", a shallow bay around salt-water marshes with salt-water ponds, and a former bay reclaimed by the construction of a dyke.
youtube
facebook

Naturerlebnis Fehmarn
Fehmarn - Urlaub in der Natur

Mit mehreren Millionen Starts und Landungen pro Jahr ist die Ostseeinsel Fehmarn das mit Abstand bedeutendste Luft-Drehkreuz Deutschlands: Zehntausende Zugvögel machen auf ihrer Reise zwischen den Brutgebieten und ihren Winterquartieren hier Station, nutzen sie - je nach Jahreszeit und Flugrichtung- als Brücke nach Norden oder Süden. Dank ihrer günstigen Lage und ihres reichhaltigen Nahrungsangebotes sind die drei Naturschutzgebiete Wallnau, Grüner Brink und Krummsteert ideale Brut- und Lebensräume für die Tiere.

NABU Wasservogelreservat Wallnau

Bekassine
Bekassine
Das fast 300 Hektar große NABU Wasservogelreservat Wallnau an der Westküste Fehmarns zählt zu den ökologisch wertvollsten Regionen Norddeutschlands. Hier erleben Besucher die Vogelwelt ganz unmittelbar: In den Beobachtungshütten kommen sie unbemerkt sehr nah an die scheuen Tiere heran. Weite Ausblicke über das Gelände ermöglicht ein 10 Meter hoher Aussichtsturm. Verschiedene Erlebnisstationen auf dem Pfad der Sinne laden ein, sich der Natur spielerisch zu öffnen. Ausführliche Informationen zum Vogelflug liefert eine Ausstellung. Weitere Infos gibt es beim NABU Wasservogelreservat Wallnau

Grüner Brink

Kiebitz mit Jungen
Kiebitz mit Jungen
Ebenso zugänglich für Besucher ist der 134 Hektar umfassende Grüne Brink an der Nordküste Fehmarns. Der 2,5 km lange und bis zu 180 Meter breite Landstreifen zwischen Deich und Ostsee entstand erst durch den Deichbau im Jahr 1872. Veränderte Strömungsverhältnisse führten zu Nehrungshaken, die später abgeschlossene, kleine, langsam verlandende Binnenseen bildeten. Heute fließt nur bei starkem Hochwasser noch salziges Ostseewasser in die kleinen Strandseen. Im Laufe eines Jahres werden bis zu 170 Vogelarten gezählt.

Krummsteert / Sulsdorfer Wiek

Krumsteert
Krumsteert
Der Krummsteert (niederdeutsch für „krummer Schwanz“) liegt an der Süd-Westspitze der Insel Fehmarn und darf nicht betreten werden. Er ist Bestandteil des Naturschutzgebietes „Krummsteert - Sulsdorfer Wiek“, das sich auf rund 300 Hektar erstreckt, Teile der Ostsee umfasst und aus vier verschiedenen Ökosystemen besteht: eine Nehrungshalbinsel - den Krummsteert, eine Flachwasserbucht um Salzwiesen mit Brackwasserteichen und eine eingedeichte einstige Meeresbucht. Erleben Sie die Natur in Ihrem Urlaub auf Fehmarn!
youtube
facebook